this is all you need to nail that audition!

Auditions are nerve-wracking and usually less than pleasant in every way – but casting directors expect you to shine in every way possible. In order to be able to do that, you should be well prepared, which is why I have made you this list of audition essentials. If you manage to bring all of these things, you can focus on your dancing, and not be distracted by anything outside getting a contract.

 

Your CV and headshot:
this is a MUST if you are going to an open audition! Otherwise, the casting director has no way of knowing who you are – resulting in not casting you! Also, it is essential that your headshots are up-to-date for the same reason. If you have red hair on your headshot, but in reality you are now blonde – they are just not going to be able to recognize you! I have heard of people being sent home for having outdated headshots. You don’t want that to happen to you! Also, always bring your CV in two languages, if you are auditioning in non-English speaking countries. In my case, I usually audition in Germany or Austria, but that doesn’t mean that the casting director is going to be able to speak and read my German CV! In many cases, even though the production is in German, choreographers and directors will be brought in from the UK. You don’t want them to be unable to read your CV at the audition, so bring both an English and German one!

 

Two or more pairs of shoes: depending on what kind of audition it is, I usually like to bring ballet flats, jazz shoes and sneakers with me. Of course, if you are attending a purely classical audition you should bring your pointe shoes! More often than not, the floor of the studio you will be dancing in is either slippery or sticky. In order to be prepared for that, bring a travel-sized hairspray (to spray your soles, it will make you stick) or step into some water before dancing. I bring so many pairs of shoes because I usually don’t know exactly what the style of dance will be like and my footwear makes a lot of difference in how I feel and dance.

Multiple options of clothing: I am the first one to admit that I have gone to auditions in not-so-fitting dance attire. That is why now, I always bring seconds! Similarly to the shoe-issue, you usually don’t know what you’re buying yourself into, so it’s best to be prepared for all options. I need to highlight one more thing: unless it is an audition for a contemporary piece, you should not be wearing baggy clothing! The casting directors need to see your body shape and I’ve actually witnessed them telling a girl to go change into a fitted pair of pants. They ended up not taking her – whether or not that was because of her choice of clothing, I don’t know, but you should not be taking chances!

A banana, some nuts and a power bar: auditions can go on for hours on end. You could be dancing your heart out for three hours straight, which means you’re gonna burn A LOT of calories. You will need to refuel, without actually eating a bunch and feeling full and bloated. If you’re not allergic (a rash or a closed throat probably won’t help in dancing to your full potential), nuts can give you energy really fast and a banana provides you with magnesium – which prevents cramping.

final1509890160431.jpg

Lots and lots of water: Living in Austria, this is usually not a problem, since our tap water is among the purest and best tasting in the entire world. But recently, I went to take class in Barcelona (not an audition, I know, but it felt like one – more on that in another post). In Spain, the tap water is drinkable, but tastes like chlorine. I forgot to bring bottled water and had to survive 1 hour and 45 minutes of an intense class in the still pretty hot Spain autumn with almost no water – not such a good idea! So, if you are in a foreign country, always inform yourself about the quality of tap water and in case of doubt, bring bottled water. Another option is to buy a bottle with a built-in filter.

A razor and other beauty products: This might sound really crazy, but I like to bring a razor. Maybe you forgot to shave the day before or you took a red-eye flight to attend the audition and your armpits are not looking their best. It is something that can make you feel self-conscious and distracts you from your dancing – which we want to omit! You will also likely need to re-do at least your lipstick, because all your makeup will come off from all the sweating. For that reason, I like to use lip tints, as they stay put for a fairly long time. (Unless I bite off half of my lips due to nervousness, but that’s again a different issue.) The following is also very important: a deodorant and makeup wipes! First of all, you will want to smell nice – I use a neutral deodorant and spray some body mist all over myself. What you can see in the picture is the shea butter body mist by THE BODY SHOP, which you can purchase here for 13 Euros. I like using relatively “light” scents. Makeup wipes can come in handy in case you have a makeup accident (aka someone smears your lipstick while partnering) or the casting director asks you to take off your makeup entirely.

 

Your calendar, something to read and/or write: Auditions often involve a great deal of waiting, which is why you should bring something to take your mind off things. Of course you could play with your phone, but do you really want to waste all that data volume in one go? I like to bring my kindle or just a good book – after all, this can even be a conversation starter! Most importantly, bring your calendar and maybe a USB stick with your CV/accompanying music on (if you’re going to sing). Your calendar will be necessary if you are actually hired and the production manager tells out the dates for fittings/start of rehearsals etc..

Did I miss out on anything? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment